Peanut Butter

IMG_1571Sometime last year (and in a past blog post), I tried making my own hummus and came to the realization that homemade is better than store bought.  Since then, I’ve wondered what else I am normally buying, but could be making at home.

For a long time, I’ve been tempted to try making peanut butter and have always put it off.  When I decided to re-start the blog this week, it seemed like as good a time as any to finally do it.

Truth be told, as much as I LOVE peanut butter, Mark and I don’t eat a whole lot of it at home.  I usually have to buy a jar whenever I’m in the mood to make cookies or buckeyes or some other peanut butter recipe because we don’t always keep it in the house.  But that doesn’t mean I couldn’t get used to always having a homemade batch on hand.

IMG_1568

So…while out shopping today I stopped at the nut store (yes, we have everything in my neighborhood!) to pick up a bag of Unsalted Roasted Spanish Peanuts and then I stopped at the grocery store to buy Peanut Oil.

Once at home, I pulled out Kosher salt and honey and was ready to go.

Or so I thought…

IMG_1569

It turned out that I hadn’t looked at the peanuts closely enough in the bag.  They still had the skins on them. And the recipe stated that the skins needed to be off.  *sigh*  There I sat for 30 minutes, rubbing skins off a pound of peanuts.  On the upside, I rediscovered my love of show-tunes with a new Pandora channel.  Nothing like stripping peanuts and singing “Climb Every Mountain” on a Saturday afternoon, am I right?

IMG_1572Once the peanuts were “naked”, I dumped them into the food processor with 1 teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 teaspoons honey.  Those three ingredients took a spin for a minute, and then I added the oil – 1 1/2 tablespoons to start.  After another two minutes of processing, I took a taste and adjusted the flavors (basically, I added a little more of everything, except peanuts).

TA-DA, I had homemade peanut butter!

Just as with the hummus, I may never go back to store-bought again.  It is really good!  And it was so simple to make.

Of course, now I have to figure out what to do with it…. PB&J Sandwiches?  PB & banana sandwiches?  Cookies?  Candies?  Ice cream sundae topping?

Decisions, decisions….

IMG_1576

IMG_1577

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter

  1. I bet that is REALLY good….. when we visit on Memorial Day weekend I hope you can give us the benefit of your cooking skills…..hehe

  2. I notice a lot of recipes call for Kosher salt and I never really understand why. Do you? Isn’t it lacking some nutrient that we actually need? (Someone be my reference librarian, for once!) Thanks for showing us how simple it is! Just might do this myself some time,

    1. I’m no expert on the subject, but my understanding is that the main difference between Kosher salt and other varieties (table, sea…) is the size, shape and origin of the salt crystals, which impacts how the salt is absorbed into the recipe. So you’re correct that it’s ultimately the same thing, just used differently. The general rule is that larger salt crystals will make a dish taste “more salty” because, depending on the dish, it will not have time to dissolve. That being said, for something like a soup, almost all forms of salt will dissolve by the time the recipe is finished. In a quicker recipe, though, this can make a big difference.

      In terms of nutrients, salts in their purest forms are all chemically the same. However, most table salt is iodized, which apparently helps maintain a healthy thyroid. But that’s really the only nutritional difference, and its a man-made addition!

Leave a Reply

