Egg-cellent Salad

IMG_2448I’ve never boiled an egg. I love deviled eggs, easter eggs, and chopped egg in a chef’s salad. And yet I’ve never boiled one for myself. So the motivation for this week’s post was simple: find a recipe that uses hard boiled egg.

I decided to kill two birds with one stone and make egg salad. Weekly blog entry and weekly lunch question solved.

According to The Best New Recipe, “egg salad is one of those simply spur-of-the-moment comfort foods that should be easy to make.” That sounded promising. I chose to go with The Best New Recipe because it is strong in teaching you the basics. I also love their chicken IMG_2446salad recipe and, as I suspected, the ingredient list between chicken salad and egg salad are almost identical: mayo, red onion, parsley, celery, dijon, and lemon. Nothing fancy here.

Who knew the hardest part for me would be the boiling? The Best New Recipe teaches this skill in two steps: 1) Put the eggs in a saucepan, cover with water and bring to a boil. 2) Upon boiling, remove the saucepan from the heat and wait 10 minutes.

IMG_2443Turns out I’m pretty impatient. There was a lot of pot watching, and you know what they say about a watched pot. Eventually I started to see bubbles forming.

“This is it!” I thought. And with that I covered the pot and moved it off of the heat. 10 minutes later when I started to peel, I realized that my definition of boiling is not quite boiling enough. The yokes were a just tad bit soft. Too bad. The overachiever in me wanted to pass my egg boiling test with flying colors on the first go. Instead, I’d give myself a B+ on this run.

I’m not one to waste food, so I still used the eggs. They were solid enough to chop and mix into the ingredients I had prepared while waiting. The whites held their own when slathered in the most unhealthy of salad ingredients. The yokes on the other hand, took more of a beating, giving the salad a yellow-ish tint:

IMG_2451

But it still looked tasty to me. Mark was less impressed. He was particularly bothered by the smell. It definitely has that egg-y smell. I didn’t mind it so much at home on Sunday. The next day at work, however, I was a little nervous my colleagues might question my why I brought such a strong odor into our cramped quarters.

Luckily no one seemed to notice. Perhaps because I devoured it quickly. But only after arranging a secret desk photoshoot:

IMG_2454

All in all, my egg boiling skills could still use some work. And egg salad isn’t exactly ideal for office lunch. And this particular egg salad mostly tastes like dijon and mayo. I would have liked more egg in my egg salad. Oh well. Lessons learned. On to the next experiment…

To try this recipe for yourself, check out The New Best Recipe by the editors of Cook’s Illustrated

One thought on “Egg-cellent Salad

  1. Hey you. Hope all is well and you are keeping warm. I hope you and Mark will be visiting me in Florida next Winter 😉

    You got the egg boiling down. One tip. Room temperature eggs. Leave the eggs out of the fridge at least a half hour before boiling. And I leave them off the boil for 12 minutes, covered and off the heat. Rinse in cold water until totally chilled. Roll them under your hand to crush the shells, then peel. I love egg salad. Will make some tomorrow. Thanks for the incentive.

    See you the end of March. Let’s cook together.

    Ciao, I hope I’m not supposed to say “Uncle Chris.”

    Chris De Santis Artista Culinario http://www.alla-tavola.blogspot.com

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

